Crack out the Crock Pot

by mratner

I love crock pot soups and I had a hankering for cream of celery. A little google search brought me right here to WordPress, where I found this recipe. I modified it a little bit (just for personal preference) and it turns out great!

Follow the link above for the original by Chika Obih Wellness or use the tweaked version I did. Either way, you can’t go wrong.

My version:

Ingredients:

1 medium onion

3.5 C chopped celery

1/2 C chopped carrot

2 t salt

1 t pepper

2 C water

2 C vanilla soymilk

1-2 serrano peppers chopped

3 T butter or butter substitute

Instructions:

Put all ingredients in a crock pot large enough to hold everything and cook on high for 3-4 hours. As the ingredients cook, the stock will begin to cover the top of the veggies. When you first start it, it will look like there isn’t enough liquid for the soup.

Once cooked, use a hand blender to blend soup into a smooth consistency.

 

That’s it! It’s comes out pretty hot with 2 peppers. 1 would probably be enough but go by your tastes.

 

 

