The Best and Easiest Salsa Ever

by mratner

Onion white background

Onions are packed full of nutritious goodness. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I love salsa. It’s easy to make. It’s low carb. It’s gluten and dairy free. It’s effing delicious. And here’s my recipe:

10 roma tomatoes – 1 C chopped = about 7g of carbs

1 large white onion – I’ve read that 1 C chopped onion = about 15g of carbs but the glycemic load is so low (5) that I usually don’t even count them in my meals. Use your best judgement.

1 or 2 serrano peppers, depending on your preference – 1 C chopped serrano pepper = about 8 g of carbs. 1 pepper chopped is less than a tablespoon.

2 tsp garlic salt or 2-3 cloves of fresh garlic diced

1 bunch cilantro (optional)

 

Rinse it, chop it, mix it up in a bowl and let it sit in the fridge overnight so the flavors all mix together. Eat.

 

Lately, I have been using salsa to make spanish rice, omelettes, and with GF tortilla chips for dipping or to add to nachos. So tasty!

 

 

 

