Your Rights As A Diabetic In The Workplace

by mratner

As a Massage Therapist, it is very difficult for me to work full time and manage my diabetes. When I am essentially “stuck” in a room for one to two hours at a time with a client, it can be a bit of a pain to stop everything to check my bgl, makes adjustments, eat if needed, etc, while maintaining a somatic session. I’ve had to stop many a session to correct a high or low and then return to the client minutes later. Fortunately, most people are very understanding and have no problem with me stopping to make sure everything is alright.

Still though, it is good to understand our rights and our employer’s rights and obligations. Here’s a great site to get that info.

I have had to leave a couple of jobs because the physical demands were too much for this diabetic body to manage. Remember that it is more important to maintain health than income (I know, I know, it can be hard to believe – but it’s really true, I promise).

