YEEESSSSS!!!! (Or, It Finally Happened)

by mratner

No, it isn’t a cure for diabetes (I wish it were). It’s the next best thing. After having this nasty-ass disease for almost two years, I am finally, on paper, in near perfect health. Going by my lab results, I am low risk for diabetes. Not diabetic. At risk for it. Now, make no mistake. I HAVE DIABETES! But I have managed to maintain it well enough and take care of myself to the point that on paper, there is nothing diagnostic. And that’s a damn good feeling!

No high cholesterol, no early indication of kidney problems, no over-elevated a1c (6.0%!). I’ve lost half of the weight that snuck back on me since last fall, and I fit comfortably into my size 8 pants. :o)

In case you are reading and you’re all, that’s great, but how? The answer is

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

…and insulin.

 

Seriously.

I eat a very healthy, produce heavy diet. I exercise at least every other day. I get lots of water and a full night’s sleep every night. No exceptions! Diabetes is an opportunistic disease that is just waiting for you to let your guard down so that it can get ya. Sneaky bastard. I always say that diabetes may get me in the end but it won’t be because I didn’t do everything I could to prevent it. I will never look back and think, “I should have…”.

