Whose Diabetes Is This Anyway?

by mratner

Sometimes the concern that people have for my well-being is exhibited through incessantly asking me about my blood sugar. While I understand that this comes from a place of love and compassion, I still can’t help but be annoyed by it most of the time. Managing Type 1 Diabetes is the most stressful thing in my life and to me, people constantly wanting to know “my numbers” and then asking a string of diabetes history questions is an unnecessary reminder during quiet moments that I have it. I constantly know it’s there. Sometimes I have moments, or several of them, when I become so focused on the present that I almost forget that I have Diabetes. And that is inevitably when someone texts, calls, messages, or walks in the room and wants a status update like it’s their Diabetes.

 <— Yeah, it’s kinda like this.

I know it seems like a harsh response to a question that is rooted in compassion but I can’t help it. I don’t mind talking about Diabetes. I don’t even mind talking about MY Diabetes. But please let me be the one to decide what information gets randomly shared and which doesn’t.

Thoughts?

