The Best Thing About Being A Diabetic Used To Be Gettin’ Down, And Then Gettin’ High (har har har)

by mratner

One of the best things I have experienced with insulin pump therapy is how much tighter my numbers are becoming. It wasn’t unusual, was entirely common in fact, to have a range of 200-250 points in one day. A low of 47 followed by a rebound high of 295. The up and down swing made me feel like I had just had my ass handed to me at a bar brawl. Fatigue, moodiness, chills, sweats, frustration, depression. What a pain in the ass, right? No more, my friends. The range has closed in to about 100-110 and this is after only 9 days on the pump. And most of my out-of-range numbers are lows so me, my endo, and my pump therapy trainer are working on adjustments to fix that.

I’m finding myself waking more rested (actually sleeping through the night is great!), of a more stable mood, more relaxed, less anxious, and just generally happier. The fatigue is going away, there are less nighttime runs to the loo to pee, and my body aches are going away. I cannot say enough good things about how this is going. If you are a T1, and considering pump therapy, please talk with your doctor about it. It really is a remarkable piece of medical technology that has already provided me more freedom, tighter blood sugar control, and more peace of mind.

Have questions? Please feel free to comment or email at mratner79 at gmail dot com.

