It’s Not All Shitz & Gigglez (Yeah, those are Zees)

by mratner

Oh Diabetics,

Another day, another finger prick, another astronomically high reading out of (seemingly) nowhere. 341 this morning as a fasting number. Just a little shy of the 90 goal. Right. Though the fast acting correction seems to be doing its job nicely. Before breakfast, it was at 265. Still sad, but heading in the right direction. 

So, what’s the point? The point it this. My average reading for the month is 127 and happily my readings have mostly fallen into the 80-120 range that I strive for. Sometimes it’s shitz instead of gigglez with diabetes. Okay, often it’s shitz. I used to freak out when I saw those numbers and, let’s face it, a part of me still does. But these days I know how to correct those pesky highs and get my BGL moving back toward where it is supposed to be. So don’t freak out too much. Do your correction and try not to stress. If the correction doesn’t work, or you don’t know how to correct, call your endo. And if you have to, a pricey trip to the ER is far better than landing yourself in a big puddle of DKA (diabetic ketoacidosis). That shit ain’t no joke. 

 

