Garden Shrimp Salad (at least that’s what I’m calling it)

by mratner

Hey there Diabetics,

I just have to share this recipe I tweaked from a “gluten free” menu. Being both gluten intolerant and diabetic leaves me in my own kitchen most nights so when I see something that looks good on someone else’s plate, I give it a whirl at home. I call this one Garden Shrimp Salad.

You’ll need:

1 C diced mango (I use not-even-close-to-ripe mango and that seems to be controllable with my insulin.

1 diced medium size avocado

1 C diced cucumber

Juice of 1 lemon.

fresh cilantro leaves, celery salt, and Tony’s cajun seasoning to taste.

As many cooked shrimp as you want (I steamed mine in Old Bay and let them cool)

Then you’ll:

Mix the shrimp, mango, cucumber, and avocado in a large bowl. Add seasonings and cilantro. Mix. Poor lemon juice over and toss as dressing. Eat. Mango can be taken out and another fruit substituted in.

